I Had It, But I Lost It…So I Had To Find It Again!

Standard
I Had It, But I Lost It…So I Had To Find It Again!

I always know when I’m getting away from “source”; my environment reflects the inner turmoil I feel during those times – the house is a mess, the dishes are still in the sink, and my cooking sucks.  I wrote about yesterday’s brunch turning out to be a colossal culinary failure, and I must admit it reflects how frayed I have felt during the past two weeks of 12-14 hour days.  So, last night and today was spent mostly in the kitchen where I focused on “getting my groove back”.

Fortunately, I was inspired to get back to my creative center and source energy during the Beyond Boundaries Dance Collective’s Winter Concert (or here).  What a beautiful performance it was from top to bottom.  My personal favorite moments were found in the wonderful first movement of a new creation by Laura Bradley and Carol Crist.  Though this was my favorite piece of the night, their wasn’t a dull moment throughout the entire concert.  It was simply a beautiful concert designed with artistic vision and centered, present performances.  Beyond Boundaries is my favorite of our local performing arts organizations because it is always focused on maintaining craft and creating new works; I strongly recommend that you keep an eye out for their next concert!

 

Pear Tart

I found this on the blog Fed and Fit; they always post tasty and clean recipes.  I made the mistake of using baking powder instead of baking soda – don’t do that! I might also use a tad less lemon next time; and I have modified the salt in my version below because the crust was way to salty for my taste.  Enjoy! 🙂

 

1 1/2 cups of walnuts

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp coconut oil

3 green pears, cored and sliced 1/8-inch thick

1 lemon, juiced

2 tbsp honey

2 tsp cinnamon

 

Preheat oven to 375.  In a food processor, pulse walnuts until fine; add salt and baking soda and pulse to combine.  Add coconut oil and pulse until it has a dough-like texture.  Press it into a tart tray or pie plate and bake for 15 minutes.  Remove from oven and allow to cool; reduce oven to 350.  Toss pears in honey, lemon juice, and cinammon until well-covered.  Arrange as you please on top of crust.  Bake for 15 minutes; allow to cool before serving.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Beans and Homemade Cornbread! | The Alchemist's Kitchen

Leave a comment