Stone-Baked Whole Wheat Bread

Standard
Stone-Baked Whole Wheat Bread

Stone-Baked Whole Wheat Bread

Stone-Baked Whole Wheat Bread

When I read this recipe in the March 2012 edition of Clean Eating Magazine, I had every intention of making by following all the directions.  However, when I went hunting for Red Fife stone-milled whole-grain flour, I found out that you can’t get it in Grand Junction. My bulk grocer did take the time to explain to me that Red Fife is a heritage wheat and how I could find it on-line.  In the meantime, I use stone-milled whole wheat flour and followed the rest of the recipe to the letter.  I have always heard how difficult bread is to make by hand, but it honestly was a simple task.  To make bread, it takes patience over time not hard work for lots of time.  Give it a try; I was amazed at the final result!  Enjoy 🙂

1 1/2 tsp active dry yeast

2 tbsp olive oil

3 2/3 cups Red Fife stone-milled whole-grain flour, divided, plus additional for work surface, pizza stone, and dusting

2 1/2 tsp kosher salt

In a medium bowl, stir yeast into 1/2 cup lukewarm water and set aside for 5 minutes (until frothy).  In another bowl, combine 1/2 cups warm water and oil; set aside.

In a large bowl, combine 3 cups of flour and salt.  Pour in yeast mixture and oil mixture and mix with wooden spoor until combined and dough is soft and moist.  Cover with a clean, dry towel and set aside in a warm place until dough doubles in size (1 1/2 hours).  Punch the center of the dough and place dough on a well-floured surface.  Add remaining 2/3 cup flour and knead for 4 minutes.

Divide dough into two equal pieces, and roll each into equal cylinders.  Place on a floured pizza stone, cover with a clean, dry cloth and place in a warm place until dough doubles in size (1 1/2 hours).  Transfer loafs to floured surface.

Place rack on bottom and second rack in center.  Preheat oven to 450.  In a medium oven-safe pot, bring 5 cups of water to a boil.  Transfer pot to center rack of oven.  Place pizza stone on bottom rack to preheat.

Transfer dough to pizza stone and bake for 20 minutes.  Allow to cool on a wire rack for 45 minutes before slicing.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6 responses »

  1. I make my own bread for years (not always but quite often) and the kneading of the dough is such a relaxing task to do … then patiently wait for the dough to rise and into the oven. I turn the heat down after 10 mins … this way I get a nice but thin crust which I like. Don’t have a conversion table handy but I do bake mine at 230C for 10min and then 180C for 30 min … on a baking sheet on the lowest rack.
    I also add seeds … replace up to 10% of the flower with seeds

  2. Pingback: 34 | The Alchemist's Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Moving Day Picnic | The Alchemist's Kitchen

  4. Pingback: Rosemary & Lemon Sea Bass | The Alchemist's Kitchen

Leave a comment