Beans and Homemade Cornbread!

Standard
Beans and Homemade Cornbread!

Cornbread - fresh out of the oven; it sits next to my original recipe which called for 1% buttermilk.

Southern Corn Bread (dairy-free)

Yesterday, in the midst of my cooking extravaganza, I made a pot of pinto beans (from my friend Mel’s recipe) and a batch of my own recipe for Southern Corn Bread.  It is actually a recipe from The Joy of Cooking (p.632) that I have adjusted to meet my own dietary specifications; as far as cornbread goes, this is pretty healthy.  Enjoy!:)

Into the hot coconut oil in the pre-heated cast iron skillet and ready for the oven.

 

1 tsp coconut oil (you could use most anything – butter, olive oil, shortening, etc)

1 3/4 cup cornmeal (I use stone ground medium grind)

1 tbsp sucanat

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

2 egg whites

1 egg

1 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk

1/2 cup soy yogurt

 

Preheat oven to 450. Put coconut oil in cast iron skillet and place in oven; skillet is ready when oil starts to smoke.  In large bowl, combine cornmeal, sucanat, baking powder, baking soda, and salt with a wire whisk.  In a medium bowl, combine eggs, almond milk, and yogurt.  Pour into dry mixture and combine.  Remove skillet from oven and pour cornbread mixture into the skillet.  Return to oven and bake for 20-25 minutes.

Beans (slow cooked with onions and a pork shank) and Southern Cornbread (dairy-free).

2 responses »

  1. Can I just move in with you? I don’t take up much space… tee hee LOVE your recipes! I really need to find more time to take photos and post. Then, you would be able to SEE what you have inspired!

Leave a comment